WTF! I found God

Where was God during Covid-19, when He let millions die of asphyxiation, all alone, and their bodies towed away in plastic bags? Where was God when we watch helplessly our own fathers and mothers and children die? You mean to say nobody prayed in these times?

You mean to say no one prayed when the women and children were being taken as sex-slaves in Syria and Afghanistan? Did God go to sleep when all the Jews were being gassed in World War II?

The Voyager 1, launched by NASA in 1977 has sped way past the Solar System, and found no bearded figure in white robes. So, where is God? What started as a fun recording of what was floating around in the iCloud, became a personal journey of enlightenment for me to find God — “the asshole who apparently struck a matchstick, and fled”.

My political analyst and atheist son, knows I believe in UFOs, God (with capital G, the omnipotent, the Supreme), gods (personal gods for all religion), time travel and homeopathy. In other words, I am a bit cracked. ……

When I started writing this book, it was just a fun-recording of whatever I learnt after having semi-retired from being a hard-nosed news-desk journalist, was welcoming the change of operating two fun businesses from home, and leading a reasonably peaceful and boring life in North America.

Due to a curious mind, through various scientific, quasi-scientific and pseudo-scientific knowledge floating in the internet sphere all around me, I found a lot of contradictory and thrilling concepts that I wanted to share. Wanting to reiterate whatever I learnt on a piece of paper for the future generations to refer to, I went on this writing spree. Didn’t think I would publish it as a book, thought maybe could put it up in my blog. Knew very well that I am not the first person to be stupefied by the knowledge, and that am too small in the universe for God (if He exists) to care a hoot about, neither am I the last.

Then while writing, I went through this journey; this self-revealing experience of knowing more and more, through research, scouring the internet arid, and finally through meditation. I am shocked to say I’m now addicted to meditation. It is like the last shore of knowledge you can arrive. The more I knew, the less I seemed to know, the more I meditated.

….. Speaking of casteism, I’ve seen the turn of events 50 years ago, when Hindus ill-treated Muslims and Christians as outcast (mlechchho), whose shadows they should not step onto. From that, after transcending borders of cast, creed, color, and now having physically traversed international borders to settle in Canada, even after 50 years I see how racism prevails in this part of the globe. That day I was caught unawares, when a Christian white judgmental friend asked in a corny way, “Oh! Do you know about Christianity? You decorate the Christmas tree too?” A Pakistani Muslim ask me, “Do you eat biryani too?” I have seen how prejudiced a senior member of a church was, when I walked into the church one day, unannounced, struck by the serenity of it. “You are a Hindu, right?” she asked suspiciously, as I flustered to explain why I love churches and have wailed in front of Jesus with all my troubles, so many times.

My son has lost friends in this country because they believed in a particular religion and thought that he is disenfranchised or something when he questioned the existence of God. In Canada, most people I met were clinging onto their own religion, much as though their identity depended on it. After encountering many people in Canada who were starting to take my jokes on religion seriously and thinking I am a freak or something, I began to scour Hinduism sincerely for the first time, researching beyond my childhood’s carefree celebration of Durga Puja, Id and Christmas.

This search led me into so many interesting facts, that I felt the need to write them down. Now it has become a 400-page book!

I am glad to share that the book is now available now in eBook and paperback on all platforms of Amazon: Cover design: Aneesh Chatterjee

On Amazon’s Bestseller List at #29 on July 10, 2021 https://www.amazon.ca/gp/bestsellers/books/930116/ref=pd_zg_hrsr_books

RAW is a WordPress blog theme design inspired by the Brutalist concepts from the homonymous Architectural movement.

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our very latest news.

Leave a comment