Birthday, Graduation, NASDAQ and a Wedding

Posted: May 21, 2012 in Laughing at life

Technology scares me. However, I cannot but marvel at the techy young man who created history last week. Birthday, his girlfriend becoming a doctor, his company going public and a wedding. All in a single week! Mark Zuckerberg is perhaps the only man who is so good at making news so unassumingly.

The young billionaire seems to have a natural heavy head stuck steadfast on his shoulders. So even after today, even when the world is reeling under the chain of earth-shattering news from his end, he may just continue picking up after his tiny dog, Beast, and trying to converse with his girlfriend, Dr Chan’s granny, in broken Cantonese tomorrow!

I hated Facebook a few years back, treasured my Orkut. But now with the renewed image makeover of the CEO, I must admit, I am beginning to trust Facebook a bit more.

Facebook was so tough to access a few years back that I ignored a friend’s invite. Then came the gigantic question of privacy. Like me, a lot others may have resisted posting personal updates on a newsfeed that looks so exposed to the entire world. Even when I learned to access it, I would be scrolling up and scrolling down and eventually logging out. Then, one day, I learned the fun of posting an update! 56 notifications one morning! 110 friend requests! I was bowled over. Slowly I learned to filter and control Facebook. You post only those things you want the world to know. You post what you want to appear on the first page of a newspaper. Do you want to post your fight with your best friend? Or your girlfriend? No? So don’t.

So instead of Facebook controlling me, I learned to control Facebook. I post updates which I will be proud of reading even after a few months, not ashamed of reading the next day.

You can control who sees each post. Who sees each photograph. I can also control if anyone can get to my account using any search engine. Try, you can’t see me.🙂 This, coming from a “technology-challenged” person like me should be comforting and an encouragement to everyone else.

Zuckerberg, and his marriage with his girlfriend, Priscilla Chan moved me. I told myself, China having blocked Facebook has nothing to do with this. It must have been love.🙂 I spent about an hour looking up Youtube videos of his interviews… and realized I am moved by his unassuming focus of creating not just a business, but creating history.

If I was still working on the international color page in my past newspaper, today’s headline would have read:

IN A SINGLE WEEK

Birthday, Graduation, NASDAQ and a Wedding

God bless the couple! (May Facebook also cross over The Great Firewall of China.)

Psssttt: Facebook is offering me a million dollars for this article, don’t tell anyone.😛

Comments
  1. Subhajit Guha says:

    A glowing article on the life and times of a man who is now an undeniable part of our everyday life. An unassuming cool dude; doing things he knows he does best.

  2. Wonderful items from you, man. I’ve be aware your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely wonderful.
    I really like what you’ve obtained here, certainly like what you’re stating and the
    way in which you are saying it. You’re making it enjoyable
    and you continue to take care of to stay it sensible. I cant wait
    to read much more from you. That is really a tremendous website.

    • apu28 says:

      Thank you. Your comment went into my spam box and I recovered it today. I am happy you like my writing. Am glad that you are glad. Keep reading. Happiness always.

  3. Kelley says:

    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to improve
    my website!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

    • Kaberi says:

      Sure Kelly, please take any ideas you want and share them with the world. Also I would appreciate if you can give my blog a credit in your blog, with the link. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

